Some people think that only those people who have been working in a company for a long time should get a promotion. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Organisations always give high priority to the people who working for the company from long time , but according to me the companies should not look into the employee total years of work experience, should have valid policies while promoting them.

On one hand we cannot say the workers working from long time in the same company eligible for the promotions firstly, Organisation should examine the eligibility criteria to give any promotion. Secondly, they need to validate the employee is capable to handle the new role and responsibilities. If company management not survey properly and offer promotion to the long-term employee may lead to business and customer loss.

On the other hand, if the long running staff are really working hard and eligible for the promotion but, if the company not recognise and not promoting them will lead to several critical problems such as he or she may resign and can join in the competitor company for higher position and salaries. This action may lead to loss of existing customers and business for the current company. The employee can be demotivate and spread bad feedback about the company in the society.

In conclusion , all together its totally company management decision to give promotion to long service employee or not?. According to me management need to work hard to prepare the checklist in the selection process for any promotion. Which will help the company growth in positive way.