Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

Getting to know an unfamiliar culture can be unforgettable experience. However, some linguists suggest learning the foreign language in order to better perceive both unusual traditions and customs. This essay agrees with this suggestion.

Let us start with reasons why they suggest learning the target language. First of all, the ignorance of local language may cause misunderstanding when encountering complicated cultural details. For instance, in Kazakhstan, tourists from Europe often get confused when the host family suggests them in the Kazakh language to taste a traditional meal, called “beshparmak”, which includes horse meat as an ingredient, but restricted in their own country. Another reason is that it hinders the pace of cultural exchange. It often takes them longer time to get insight into local life, when tourists poorly know the local language. However, with the intermediate level, they could progress faster. Moreover, it may encourage tourists to feel suspicion. Without a solid knowledge of the local language, tourists are usually afraid of taking part in some festivals, because they are unsure of how to behave in unfamiliar situations.

However, some experienced tourists say that cultural exchange is possible in spite of being unable to speak the target language. They justify their opinion by the following arguments. First of all, widespread languages enable them to maintain cultural exchange. Pervasive languages, such as English, can decrease the misunderstanding between tourists and locals, when it comes to the indigenous culture. Secondly, other senses of perception also participate in comprehension. Learning local customs also happens when people both watch and hear indigenous sounds as well as artistic performances. Finally, the Internet helps to find missing information about the target culture. Presently, tourists can easily find the information about any cultural aspects on their own if they do not understand something.

In conclusion, even though some tourists assure that it is unnecessary to know the local language well to learn more about traditions, I think that tourists should learn some basic words and phrases.