Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

Getting to know an unfamiliar culture can be unforgettable experience. However, some linguists suggest learning the local language firstly in order to perceive both unusual traditions and customs. This essay agrees with this suggestion.

Let us start with the reason why they suggest learning the target language. First of all, it causes misunderstanding when explaining complicated cultural details. For instance, in Kazakhstan, tourists often get confused a little when a host family suggest them in Kazakh language eat a traditional meal, called “beshparmak”, which includes horse meat as an ingredient, but restricted in Europe. Another reason is that it hinders the pace of cultural exchange. When tourists poorly know the local language, it often takes them longer time to get insight into local life, but, with the intermediate, they could progress faster. Moreover, it may cause tourists to feel suspicion . Foreigners often get cheated by local people, because they are unaware of local cultures when an inhabitant is going to deceive them for money, so it is better for them to know the target language in order to avoid such situations.

However, other linguists say that cultural exchange is possible in spite of being unable to speak the target language. They justify their opinion by the following arguments. First of all, widespread languages enable to people exchange information. Pervasive languages, such as English, can curb the misunderstanding between tourists and locals when it comes to the indigenous culture. Secondly, other senses of perception also participate in comprehension. Learning local customs also happens when people both see and hear indigenous sounds as well as artistic performances. Finally, the Internet helps to find missing information about the target culture. Presently, tourists can easily find the explanation of any cultural aspects on their own.

In conclusion, even though some linguists assure that it is unnecessary to know the local language well to learn more about traditions, I think that tourists should learn some basic words and phrases.