Some people think that the public libraries are no longer necessary, other believe that public libraries still perform useful functions.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have conflicting views about the usage of public libraries in this modern world. While there are several benefits of these places for different individuals, I think that utility of libraries are very limited nowadays, and they are not required in this technology driven society.

On the one hand, state owned libraries are still beneficial for people in many ways. Firstly, some orthodox people still find libraries, a useful place to read paper-back edition of books, and are not interested in switching to electronic mode of reading. For instance, my grandfather still visits local library on regular basis to read his favorite history related books, and even after several attempts from my side; he is not ready to try digital books, as he finds reading real paper based books more easy and convenient to read. Secondly, students can find a quiet and lonely place to study in these libraries in the middle of this busy world, where they can concentrate on their studies without getting disturbed. Moreover, curriculum books are not easily available in digital formats online and local libraries are still a great place to find these paper based editions of books, thus proving to be a useful resource for students.

On the other hand, I believe that general libraries have very limited utility for mankind after the advent of technology. Younger people are downloading and reading their favorite books on various gadgets, like Kindle, from the comfort of their homes. This way they do not have to visit far-off places, like public libraries, and they can pursue their hobby of reading in a more comfortable manner, anytime during the day. Furthermore, people nowadays are getting more inclined towards visual media to increase their knowledge rather than being dependent only on physical books. Various online resources, such as You-Tube, is providing useful information to younger generation in the form of documentaries, increasing their understanding of a subject in a much practical and enjoyable way, as compared to books that are only limited to reading.

In conclusion, although there are several advantages of public libraries to some sections of the society, in my opinion, these places virtually have no place in this modern technological world.