Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some individuals that reading storybooks is more valuable for children as compared with seeing TV or playing computer games. I believe reading storybooks is profitable for children but watching some shows on TV also improve the knowledge in a child, therefore, I agree to some extent only

To begin with, reading storybooks can improve children command on language and develop their imagination power. Children should be encouraged to read storybooks or news articles on a daily basis, it will help them to improve their vocabulary and understanding of words with a different context. For instance, the use of the same word in a different context can have a different meaning, and this can only be learnt by students through reading on a regular basis. In addition to that, while reading storybooks children make imaginary pictures in mind to develop the story and this makes them more creative in imagination.

However, watching TV shows like history channels or discovery channels can account for improving knowledge in children. Watching some television shows can benefit children in gaining information about different scientific discoveries and art, culture and history of our ancestors. For instance, the basic learning of science subject can be achieved through discovery kids program to know the different concepts like air, water and other gases in the environment and their importance in our daily life. Hence, encourage kids to watch television to some extent is useful also.

In conclusion, both the aspects have benefits for children in different aspects, thus I believe that children can learn language through reading stories and also can improve their knowledge in science and art subject through watching television shows.