Some people think that secondary or high school student should be taught how to manage money as an important life-skill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teenagers should be equipped with money management as an essential life-skill. This essay completely agrees with this viewpoint that close supervision for thoughtful spending is necessary for growing children. Firstly, this essay will discuss how this habit when developed would teach them the value of money and secondly, discuss how they would become financially sensible.

Nowadays, the young generation is extremely spendthrift and consider their parents as an ATM, which is certainly a negative trend. Therefore, this essay agrees that adolescents should learn the value of money and the realization of the single penny earned, which is possible with the support of their parents who can make them understand in various ways, for example by comparison of the prices of different products and their worthiness to buy. In fact, The Times has published one article to state that those who develop this skill of money management and learn to value the money at a tender age become the most successful persons.

Another favourable reason is that when youngsters would gain this mandatory life-skill to manage their budget, then they would become financially prudent. This way, when they will grow up and start earning, then they will be debt free and invest wisely and most importantly, would be able to direct their children in the same way as it is well said that actions speak louder than words. Because If they as a parent would not be able to set themselves as a precedent for their children, then guidance given in only words would not make any difference until turning into action. Fixed pocket-money is the prime example of this and children grew up in this way have proven to be self-controlled and free from a financial crisis.

To recapitulate, this essay reiterates that guidance to teens to manage their budget is a must as it paves the way for them to understand the importance of the money earned and to become financially controlled.