some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination but others think there are more important factors like money and personal appearance. What do you think?

I agree with Johnson that we should,first of all,define what success of life is since different people have different opinions about it. If it means a content state of mind or a positive attitude towards life, then the success of life has nothing to do with both. For example, a hermit may be satisfied with the peaceful and tranquil life in a cottage, even though he lives in a small shabby hut, has meager or no income at all to rely on for life, or even has no friends. So long as he can rest on the status quo enjoyably, life is a success for him. But if it means something like success in the material world, say earning tons of money, or elevation to higher social status, or becoming a master in one specific domain, then hard work and determination are essential.

That said, we see many cases that many people can achieve success without making much effort. For example, Wang Sicong can buy a skyscraper in New York with a click of a mouse, which for mediocre like me can equal a land on the moon. Years have also witnessed some girls who have risen to fame in the film industry with ease just because they have gorgeous looks.

Since the definition of success of life is yet to be defined, and each individual has a specific way towards success, would it be more manageable to narrow down the topic to discuss, say the commercial success of Mr. Zhu, our boss?