do you agree or disagree with the following statement? the opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. use specific reasons and exams to support your answer.

It is true that many celebrities, such as super film stars or sports megastars, are constantly employed by companies to advertise their products or are recruited by governments to advocate something beneficial to the public. I agree with the opinion that those famous people tend to exert more influence on younger people than on older people.

To begin with, older people are less exposed to the ideas of these renowned people. It is indisputable that nowadays people air their views through multimedia, such as the Internet, Twitter--an app for communication, and Wechat-- the equivalent of Twitter in China and so on. While younger people use those communication tools on a daily basis, many older people seldom get to know what the hell those gagets are, not to mention how to use them. As a result, old people are almost immune to the ideas advertised by those celebrities. Take my grandma as an example, she has no cellphone, no computer and no access to the Internet, she does not even watch TV. Therefore, when a wellknown film star appealed to people to take necessary preventive measures, such as washing hands in a strict way to help prevent Covid-19 in 2019, she just turned a deaf ear to it. She hadn't been bombarded with the public service ads on TV or anywhere else on the social media. It was impossible for her to be impacted by those ideas because she did not totally know the existence of them.

Secondly, older people are less receptive than younger people by nature. Senior people tend to think that they are experienced and that they know better than anyone else, including celebrities. A good illustration of this is a Chinese sentence I often hear from the old peopel around me, which goes like this when translated into English literally: I have crossed more bridges than all the miles you have walked. This leads to the fact that old people are often stubborn and hard-wired to the beliefs they have upheld all their lives. It is no wonder that when the national government hired a sports star to publicise a public service ads on TV to persuade citizens to adop a vegetarian diet out of environmental concerns, many old people are opposed to it because they think eating only vegetables will only make people feable and weak. They trust their own and do not listen to others.

To concude, it is reasonable to argue that older people are less influenced by the opinions of celebrities than younger people because of older people's fewer opportunities to be exposed to those ideas and because of their inborn unreceptiveness to new ideas.