Some people think that teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree ?

It the true that many people believe that all youngsters help the community by doing unpaid work in their spare time. While I agree that this would benefit both teenagers and society, I disagree that all teenagers should be forced to do volunteer work in their free time.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why volunteer work would benefit themselves and society. One reason is that unpaid work allows teenagers to broaden their own knowledge of different fields in life through real experiences. As a result, they can solve problems. Another factor is that teenagers not only enlarge their knowledge but also develop their soft skills through volunteer work such as communication skill, teamwork skill, time management skill. That skills help them enhance their resume and give them countless opportunities when seeking a job in the future.

On the other hand, I do not agree that teenagers should be forced to do unpaid works. Firstly, the incredible pressure of studying at school accounts for a great deal of how teenagers spend their time. If they spend their spare time in doing volunteer work, they will not have time to do homework, relax and rest. Secondly, teenagers need time to enjoy themselves, develop hobbies and help parents. It is necessary to explore myself and improve my knowledge.

In conclusion, although I accept that working as a volunteer can be beneficial for teenagers, I disagree with idea that they should be forced to do unpaid work.