Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

A highly controversial issue pertains to formal education, particularly related to knowledge. Basically, concern relates to purpose of university education whether it should impart lessons going to be work while doing job or it needs not to bother and serves its basic purpose? I will prefer to scrutinize this matter before favoring single aspect.

Several points are there to support my stance of enhancing expertise of graduates immensely to make them job ready. The dominant one is need of an hour, apparently a university graduate cannot a higher position at workplace only with hard skills until he or she must possess value able soft skills. A case in a point that the most of the companies' preference is a highly qualified graduate having several soft skills such as integrity, collaboration or decision making ability, whereas others lag behind in competent world. Hence, initiative by administration to mandate teaching these soft skills would save a place for deserving candidates. Consequently, this appropriate strategy pave the path in plunging the unemployment rate dramatically.

To fortify further, yet another aspect in this regard is that university already have a considerable amount of fees to cater sessions to scholars about personality development. Conversely, ignorant approach of schools oblige pupils to pay other institutes to take class to grasp numerous skills which could better be learnt effortlessly.

However, shortage of time contributes in avoiding some crucial activities to curriculum. No doubt, students are occupied with certain tasks and barely get time to relax, therefore in this case likelihood to learn soft skills would be less. Hence, the least interest show in learning leads to efforts of mentors may go vain.

Conclusively, to recapitulate the above mentioned essay ,it is clear that the positive effects of teaching at university are much higher to ignore the noticeable down sides.