some people think that universities should provide with konwledge and skills needed in the workplace .Others think taht the true function of a universityshould be to give access to knowladge for its own sake ,regardless of whether the course is usefull to an employer

What, in your opinion ,should be the function of a university

Universities are the most important institutions in modern societies in my point of view. They have several functions and a huge range of importance for us, including both ideas above. By this I mean that they should invest in research and academic activities as much as in preparations for work market.

The name “University “ says what I am trying to share. All kind of knowledge should have space. Despite of all pressure from companies to universities change their investments, I think that they should resist in the idea to produce academic knowledge. This is extremely relevant for the future of our species and should keep being produced as much as possible.

In other hand, universities are also responsible to make Human Resources for the companies and prepare their students for their future career. If they just learn information about contents that aren’t relevant for their jobs, they will leave their degree without the properly education. Then, I would say that these preparations with courses designed for work market are tremendously helpful as well.

Nowadays, we see an incredible amount courser and institutions being opened just for the preparation for companies. In deed, this is truly happening and I think that courses such as business and management or accountability and it might be useful. However, I think also, as I said, that universities should keep maintaining their researches non-related to companies needs just because they are crucial for our knowledge as a society. Also, they doesn’t make money and don’t give large profits like the other kinds of knowledge and the tendency is they lose all their financial support if the government doesn’t chose keep than as a priority.

Therefore, I really believe that all these purposes are responsibility of the universities and they should take care of both, including keep up the researches and academic production that aren't as profitable for companies as other areas.