Some people think that young people are influenced more by their friends than by their parents or teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

Imitation is one of the human being's strong asset, which displays through the learning process from people surrounding us every day. While I accept that friends have a tremendous impact on one's personality development, I believe that family and teacher are also the incredible sources of inspiration for the young.

On the one hand, making friends is considered an important decision since this would have either benevolent or adverse effects on young people. If we hang out with people with great personalities and talents, they would be a profound source of motivation for us to become a better person. For example, in school, under-performing students are normally paired up with high-achieving ones so that they would receive better assistance in study and get inspired from their friends. On the flip side, many juvenile criminal and drug related cases have been recorded due to peer pressure, which proves that bad habits would also be acquired through friendship. The young often want to gain approval and trust from their friends by mimicking their behaviors, even the bad ones like smoking cigarettes.

On the other hand, family plays a pivotal role in molding young people's characters due to several aspects. Firstly, parents are probably the first friends that we have made and shared our lives with since the time of our birth till teenage's time. Hence, children spend majority of their time with their family and thus probably acquire a lot of traits from their parents like sleeping habits and language commands. Secondly, the offspring may look up to their father and mother as their role models in life and a great source of inspiration. For example, children with parents working in performing arts industry would grow up following their mother or father to the theater and start cultivating the passion for arts. Not only does this experience give them a profound inspiration, but it also sets a sound foundation for their future career goal of becoming artists.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that youngsters acquire some characteristics from their friends who they mingle with. However, I tend to support the idea that parents and teachers still play an equal role in nurturing and defining one's personality.