Claim: Group assignments that students must work together to complete should replace a substantial amount of traditional lecture-based instruction in college and university courses.

Reason: It is vital for students to gain experience collaborating with peers to study a topic and to achieve a common goal.

While it is crucial to accumulate teamwork experience to prepare students for the future workforce, it would not evaluate student's performance fairly based entirely on group assignments. A balance sets of group work and conventional lecture with individual assignments enable student to develop relevant skills for their future careers.

It is common to have unbalanced distribution of work in a particular group where some people do most of the work and some barely contribute anything. In this case, it is unfair to give all the students in the group the same marks. If a student continues to not participate in the communal effort but still receive the final marks since he/she was in a better group, he/she will graduate with a GPA that does not reflect his/her real performance. This scenario would stimulate the a wave of dependency attitude towards group assignments in which more and more students tend to leave the major work for others and enjoy the final results without bearing any sweats.

Secondly, lecture-based instruction is essential to provide fundamental information which can be applied and developed further in group work. Without a sound foundation of knowledge, students would be more likely to give false suggestion and uneducated guesses. A mixture of lecture and group work set the students for success with sufficient source of tools and information.

Thirdly, stressing on collaboration is essential but there are also other vital skills that students must equip themselves with in college such as rational thinking, information retrieval and individual working abilities. In the real workplace, while there are some cases requiring teamwork and collaboration, majority of the time, people need to solve tasks on their own and make decisions based on provided information by themselves. Hence preparing students for success would mean offering them as many different scenarios as possible which simulates the real work experience to gain relevant skillset.

Teamwork are increasingly important in a connected world where people are required to brainstorm and provide solutions together across technical teams and departments. However, if universities only offer students group assignments and omit the conventional instruction format of lecturing, it would lead to detrimental consequences like unethical behaviors or imbalance set of skills.