Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is considered by many individuals that keeping animals in a zoo is unethical and immoral while others support this practice because this helps to protect endangered species. In my opinion, zoos are a reliable and safe place for protecting wild animals.

On the one hand, many people claim that a zoo is a prison for wild animals where they live like a domestic animal. They are restricted to a limited area and entirely dependent on human beings for foods which are absolutely against their natural lifestyle. While in a jungle, they have a freedom to wander in a huge forest and hunt their prey by themselves which make them healthy and agile. For example, it is observed that wild animals in a zoo are lethargic and lose most of their crucial life skills because of the unnatural habitat.

On the other hand, those who support to keep animals in a zoo believe that it is a secure place for numerous endangered species. Due to deforestation and poaching, several wild species are in threat and are struggling for their existence. But, a zoo is a place where animals are safe from predators and also provides a suitable environment for their breeding. For instance, in China, there was a time when Panda became an endangered animal, but, now, their number has risen significantly due to successful breeding programs of Panda in zoos. Thus, it is clear that animals are safe in zoos.

In conclusion, although a zoo does not provide similar natural habitat like a forest, however, it is apparent to me that a zoo is a reliable alternative for wild animal protection. Hence, it should not be shut down.