Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However,other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many animal lovers claim that keeping animals captive in zoos is cruel and zoos should be banned to stop cruelty against animals. On the other hand many believe keeping animals in zoo can protect endangered species from extiction.Although I find both ideas reasonable I believe governments should shut zoos down.

To commence with, the deffenders of keeping animals in zoo believe that many endangered and threatend species can be preserved by being under provision and captive breeding . protecting animals from extinction is of great importance as loosing any kind of animal means loosing them for good. extinction of even one species can spell disaster on whole ecosystem.Among the most famous species driven to extinction by human is kind of bird named Dodo.

On the other hand many thinks that keeping animals in cage away from their natural habitant is brutal. wild life parks keeps animals for profit and it is not possible to insure they keep them in good condition. No matther how dedicated a zoo is they can not meet space requirements for most of their animals like lion and elephant. Their life in captivity can be harsh when animals are taken to the countries that do not have any similarity with animal natural habitant.

To conclude, the idea of conserving animals that are at risk of going extinct is a great one, but the problem is that not most zoos live up to it. most zoos don’t focus on the educational aspect of zoos and the animals are mainly kept for benefit. So better that governments take responsibilty of protecting endangered species.