Some people use social media to keep in touch with other and news events.

Do you think the advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people consider using social media platforms to keep connected to others and for news. In my opinion, I believe that using social media to stay in touch with friends or others and relying on it for news can be harmful in the long run than the advantages it may provide.

Admittedly, some people think that social media is the best way to get connected to people and even to get updated about the news events as it is convenient and easily accessible. In other words, as the technology has improved, so most of the people can get connected to their friends, colleagues, and others, just from the convenience of their own home, not only this, they can catch up quickly with the news updates as well. Moreover, social media platforms such as Facebook, LinkedIn has provided accessible opportunities for everyone to get connected, and these sites even personalize the news according to the person's previous searches. Thus people tend to use social media for news more often than the news channels.

Nevertheless, despite these advantages, mentioned above, people who use social media to get connected to the people and even for news become easy prey to the criminals. Using these sites puts private data of people at the stake as it can be easily accessed by other people who can hack these sites and leak the information for their benefits. People also use them for catching up on news updates but can get into the trap of fake news, which has now become common nowadays, thus, leading to wrong information and many times to many disputes.

In conclusion, communications and news on social media sites can be misleading and can pose a threat of leakage of personal data that can be used by criminals.