Some people view giving presents as an important way to show care to family and friends. Others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and appreciation.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is often believed that the exchange of gifts acts as an effective way in showing love and gratitude to friends and family. Whereas, some argue that there are more essential ways in portraying care and appreciation. In this essay we will discuss how sometimes a small gift can delight a person’s happiness and moreover, there are other ways as well to comfort a person. In my perspective, small gestures can be more effective rather than a materialistic present.

On one hand, gifts may be tangible in nature but there is often a lot of emotion mixed up in taking the decision what to buy, whether it may be for a friend or family. Firstly, it acts as a token of appreciation when you want to reward someone you do it by purchasing a present, it’s a way of making them feel special. Secondly, when a person wants something and as a friend or a family member you anticipate that need and you gift them that one thing they have been wanting, by doing so it shows them how much you value that person and they will be moved by it. For instance, I would like to take a personal example, when I was fifteen I was taking skating classes and I was getting very good at it. After a year I moved up to the advanced classes where I required bit expensive pair of skates and growing up I knew my father couldn’t afford those, nevertheless the next morning I woke up to have this new pair of skates my father had gifted it to me as it was my birthday and that day the joy I felt is indescribable.

On the other hand, gestures are a way of showing love and appreciation. Gestures are intangible in nature which can only be felt they are not materialistic. Gestures can be of many types they can be consoling someone when they are at loss, showing emotional support for someone when they are in need of it, investing your own time in order to help someone in a tough situation. For instance, my mother she is very fond of Italian cuisine, on her birthday I cooked a special meal for my entire family and she enjoyed the meal and more than that she loved the idea of me cooking for them. Furthermore, complimenting someone, cooking a special meal, verbally expressing your thoughts to someone will mean a lot.

To conclude, sometimes a small present can itself act as a show of love and appreciation. Whereas, small gestures which are humane actions can also be more viable in showing care and gratitude. However, gestures have greater impact in creating the emotional connect between one another.