Some say that the government should stop supporting the professional sports activities and the cultural performances, and instead begin supporting schools to encourage children to take up sports and arts. What is your opinion?

A large proportion of a nation's budget is allocated to support athletes and cultural performers. However, some people believe that the government should stop spending for these activities, instead focus on supporting schools and encourage students to take up sports and arts. I strongly agree with this argument for three main reasons.

Firstly, the expenditures to support professional athletes and cultural performers is expensive. Undoubtedly, they can bring honor to their country and only few people benefit from it. For example, supporting athletes in international competition costs an arm and a leg. Thus, chances of getting the trophy is very slim.

Conversely, it is not necessary for a country to join all kinds of sports and arts competition as they are not really a big deal for a nation’s pride. On the other hand, it would be most beneficial if the government use their money in providing and developing gyms and theater stages in schools which will surely lead to fun and productive experience for all students.

Lastly, if the government focus more on promoting sports and arts in schools, majority of the students will be able to develop self-confidence and can definitely help them once they graduate and start working. Also, it help some of students who are struggling with pear pressure, doing bad vices. These subjects can divert their attentions for now they have places and activities to do during free time.

To conclude, supporting professional sports and cultural performances is a very hefty and not always assure they will bring pride to one's nation. It would rather be best to support the young students since they hold their country's future success.