Some people argue that governments should stop supporting the professional sporting events and cultural programs and instead support schools from where students can take up sports and arts. What is your opinion?

Every society in general, and every nation in particular has a definite sense of sporting and cultural preferences, and the members of such society or country propagate these tilts through their active interest in the connected events.

First of all, it is true that the governments spend enormous amounts of money on these events. Interestingly, this spending is justified because these events not only entertain people they also generate huge income. Moreover, these events are an opportunity to showcase a country and its talents before the world. However, if a country manages to properly organize a global sporting event or cultural program it can significantly diminish its image before the world.

For example, such events is the Oktoberfest celebrated in Munich city of Bavarian Germany. It is a sixteen to eighteen days long affair, and attracts participants in excess of five million from across the globe. The participants line up to buy tickets to various sub-events of the festival, and cherish the memories for decades to come. Additionally, Oktoberfest has boosted the tourism industry of Germany beyond limits.

Furthermore, sporting and cultural events encourage healthy competition between the members of a society. As a result, aid in preventing the various social evils that may otherwise gnaw at the roots of the civilization. Furthermore, these are positive trends being set for the future generations to take after.

To conclude, it can safely be deduced that spending considerable sums of money on sports and cultural events is a popular trend of the modern society. It not only nourishes healthy thinking, but also promotes the soft image of the society worldwide.