Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

The mobile phone has been an important thing in the life of people, irrespective of their age. Many students around the world have mobile phones. Undeniably, it plays a major role when we talk about safety, connectedness, or even learning. Despite this, a lot of schools have restricted the usage of mobile phones on campus. In my view, I think this is a positive step and have a lot of benefits not just academically but physically and socially too.

Restricting the usage of phones in the classroom can itself improve learning. By refraining, students from using mobile phones in the classroom will allow them to give undivided attention to the teacher and improve their concentration. For an instance, if a student is in the class and suddenly his phone beeps with a social media notification, he will have an irresistible urge to pick up his phone and check it out. Meanwhile, he will miss what their teacher was explaining and this will break continuity and he might miss out on something important while he was busy scrolling through some irrelevant material. This disturbance won’t just be limited to him but other students sitting around him and the teacher will also be bothered. Thus, to avoid such unnecessary distractions it is advised to ban phone usage inside the classrooms.

Apart from this, usage of mobile phones in canteens or playgrounds is also something which hinders the physical and social development of the student. Instead of spending lunchtime socializing with their classmates, students are usually seen hung on their phones. Similarly, while playing sports when their 100% attention should be on their game, they get distracted with the beep of the notification. This could have some serious long-term repercussions on kids and so it would be beneficial to restrict mobile phones on the campus.

To summarize this, I would say that the adverse effects of using phones in the school are way higher and I strongly support restricting the usage of phones in the school.