Some students prefer to take a year off between school and university to work or travel Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is quite common for students in many countries to take a break from studying after graduating from school. This trend is not restricted to rich students who have the money to travel but is also evident in poor students who choose to work and become economically independent for some time. This break is popularly known as Gap year. While it has its pros and cons, I believe that the pros outweigh the cons and I shall support my statement with the points in the below essay.

To begin with, a student can explore his interests before choosing a major. Chances likely are they may not know what their real interests are after leaving school. Therefore, the skills and experience that are acquired during the gap year enable students to introspect and find what they are interested in. To illustrate, students who pass directly from school to university are restricted in terms of general knowledge and life experiences. By contrast, those who have spent some time working or travelling have a broader view of life and more personal resources to draw on. They tend to be more independent which is an important factor for academic life and research. They are better equipped to face the challenges of university life. Also, money earned from working can be used to finance their education and sometimes, ease the burden of funding their university’s education off their parent’s neck.

Furthermore, a break period after secondary school has been proven to be beneficial to students by visiting different places. As a result, they are exposed to a variety of cultures, traditions, and customs which become relevant social knowledge for higher studies; For instance, in conducting a thesis about the community. Besides, it could be a rejuvenating experience for students before proceeding to the University. It is highly unlikely that they will have another opportunity or time to travel and explore as they will be engrossed in campus activities.

To conclude, even though the gap year activities require proper planning and stand the risk of being wasted, it's benefits outweigh the repercussions. Pre-university jobs and travelling are vital experiences that prepare young students for campus life and study.