Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Concept of year gap is quite popular in the western education system, where some students prefer to take a year off before taking admission to university level after school education finished. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the above-mentioned notion in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, having a year off in between high school education and higher studies education at university level is advantageous for the learner in many ways. Firstly, it provides an opportunity to explore their educational knowledge with the market and to know the practical values of their studies. Students can learn about the needs in the professional world and implement these things in their studies. For instance, science students after finishing school education will learn about the different aspects of microbiology subject to know which aspect is better according to his needs. Secondly, people start earning during the gap year and make themselves financially strong to support their future studies and other needs. The gap year provides autonomy to a student to do professional tasks and learn skills.

On the other hand, due to break in educational studies, some students discontinue their studies because they find difficult to go back and start studying again. Their perception of education changes as they start having a regular income. Therefore, these individuals need guidance to understand the difference in earning after school education and after finishing university studies.

In conclusion, although there are some limitations with the gap year in education, the learning and understanding the job market are way more beneficial for any student with regards to their future opportunities. Hence, I believe that advantageous of the idea outweighs the disadvantages.