Some think spending a lot on birthday celebration and weddings is a waste of money. Others think that it is important for young people and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People’s opinions seem to differ on whether spending money lavishly on celebrations and special occasions is a positive trend or a mere wastage of money. While some seem to agree with the argument that it is necessary for society, I believe that such unmindful spending should rather be avoided.

To begin with, there are myriad reasons to argue that spending loads of money on weddings and other special occasions is quite unnecessary. Firstly, in most of today’s celebrations, there is a deliberate show of power and easy money. such extensive celebrations are no better than pomp shows. Secondly, instead of spending huge amounts of money on any celebration, it is better to save it and later invest it in better ways. For instance, instead of spending lots of money on a child’s first birthday party in a five-star hotel, it is better to save it for his/her higher education. Furthermore, sometimes spending on special occasions like birthdays, anniversaries and housewarming also become a social obligation for many people and they give in to the societal pressure spending their hard-earned money.

On the other hand, people who argue that it is imperative to have grand celebrations opine/insist that it is a way of enjoying life with their family and friends. They feel that such celebrations are part of their customs and traditions. While this may be true to a certain extent, in my opinion, there is no need to spend truckloads of money on celebrations. For example, a birthday party held at home can be as enjoyable as the one held at a five-star hotel and yet it costs much less.

To conclude, I feel that unmindful spending on any occasion can be avoided. Indeed, people can celebrate these days with their relatives without posing a burden on them.