Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, some universities offer online courses, which makes it possible to study distantly and via the internet. This change has both negative and positive consequences, but I believe that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.

Studying online and without going to university classrooms has a couple of downsides, like lack of interactions and internet problems. Firstly, by attending online classes, students cannot interact directly with their teachers and the other students at the university, making their communication restricted to chats only. Since years ago, exchanging ideas face-to-face and group work have been an important aspect of education, which is not provided in online learning. Secondly, interruption in internet connection is one of the major drawbacks of studying online, causing students to fall behind the class and other students. For example, last week I was attending an online class, and suddenly the electricity went out. I had no internet connection for one hour, and I missed the class, so I could not keep up with the other students in that session.

On the other hand, online learning has some main advantages, such as flexibility in time and lowering costs. Universities, which provide students with online courses, foster convenience among their students. In this way, students can study in anytime and anywhere, not being limited to classes. For instance, my colleague who has been studying online since last year, can not only work efficiently in the workplace but also study her university courses via the internet in her free time at work. At the same time, by studying online, no money should be spent neither on traveling nor in a room to be educated in. Therefore, by reducing expenses more people from different social classes can learn through online courses because they are not required to spend money on traveling to university. Also, the cost of enrollment in such classes is not high, because there is no rent for classrooms.

In conclusion, studying online which is offered by some universities these days has both merits and demerits. Not being able to interact face-to-face and internet problems are the problems of such learning. However, being able to study with the flexibility of time and location, and reduction of costs are the advantages, which I believe weigh more than disadvantages.