Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the development of the internet, the online course becomes more common in our life.

It provides another way of learning, also more universities offer their courses on the internet.

As far as I am concerned, although it has some drawbacks, I think that the benefits are overweight than the drawbacks.

First of all, one of the main benefits of online courses is cheap. As we know, people who have devices such as smartphone and computer with internet access are able to attend the online courses. It is the best way to help people who live in the country or property area to get a high-quality education. Compared with the offline course, online learning offers open access to everyone who is willing to study without age, background and previous academic performance. Also, it allows people to study in a flexible way which means they can study in anytime and anywhere, and they can learn at their own pace.

On the other hand, there are various aspects against this argument. In some special subjects, the offline course cannot be replaced by online. For example, the chemistry test must in the relevant laboratory. Also, the people who study in the online course cannot direct contact with each other. In my university life, I get many supports from classmates which is very useful for learning some hard units.

As discussed above, although the online courses cannot completely instead of offline course, it is an important complement of education. So I think that it is a positive development overall.