Do you believe that professional athletes make good role models for young people?

These days, most of the young people imitate the style and the method of athletes’ life, thinking of them as role models. In my opinion, sportsmen can be inspiring role models from the perspective of healthy life and hard attempts, nevertheless, those models can lead young ones to various wrong ways as well.

Athletes who have a healthy lifestyle, and who never give up on their goals can be efficient heroes for teenagers. Living healthy, exercising regularly, and eating healthy food are the bold characteristics of athletes, which are very helpful for their followers. Choosing athletes as role models, youngsters try to do sports and eat healthy food, which is highly beneficial to their physical health. At the same time, sportsmen are famous for their persistence in struggling, continuous practices and stamina to achieve their targets. Therefore, their teenage fans learn that if they want to reach their dreams, they have to work hard and never stop trying for their goals.

However, sportsmen who want to reach fame and wealth by attracting media attention, also who cheat to win, can be harmful role models. Recently, many athletes try to be popular and wealthy by participating in advertisements in the media. Consequently, young people who follow them may misunderstand that making money is the priority for their role models, and they only focus on this side of being athletes rather than their efficient attributes. Secondly, some famous athletes use drugs in their games in order to perform better and win the match. Copying this detrimental trend, many teenagers in the US get used to doping before their exams or sports matches, which is really disadvantageous for their both mental and physical health.

In conclusion, since athletes have become role models for young people, I believe that they can be both efficient and harmful heroes. Although living healthy and attempting hard for goals can be learned from sportsmen, but aiming for popularity and wealth in media, and cheating for winning the games, can be learned by youngsters too, which are not desirable outcomes.