Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Study has become very crucial for successful life of an individual. This topic asserts that whether the addition of more subjects apart from the main course will be beneficial for the students. Through this essay I will examine the dimensions of this topic through examples and assertions and shape up my opinion by the end.

On the one hand side, there are people who believes that adding more subjects are beneficial, because it will help them in gaining more knowledge that will improve their skills. Furthermore, it will also be extra helpful in cracking the competitive exams, as there are only handful of skilled jobs that pay significantly good salaries, but there are huge number of candidates competing for the same, therefore it is important for students to be extra prepared for the competitions.

On the contrary, there are people who oppose this idea, as they believe it adds extra burden to their lives. For instance, if a student is already feeling it difficult to cope up with his studies, an additional subject will act as a burden, eventually the student may not be able to do good in either of the subjects. Moreover, it will also hinder the focus level of a person, by increasing the courses and dividing the attention span. For example, a recent study conducted by “The Tribune” in India suggested that 35% of the people failed in their main course subjects, because they felt burdened with the additional subject, and could not focus on their studies.

Nevertheless, weighing both the sides of the opinions, I believe that there is no single conclusion. Still, I take the ground that an effective clap requires the use of both hands. Therefore, I believe every individual should make their own decisions of taking up extra subjects, and students should not be pressurized, as every student have different calibre.