Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

There is a tendency among younger generation to move to urban areas; meanwhile the elderly are staying by themselves in rural communities. In this essay, I will examine complications caused by this trend and suggest possible solutions.

The main consequence of abandoning aged group of people in rural areas is their isolation and lack of social contact. Loneliness and social isolation in turn leads to serious health problems. For instance, some studies suggest that loneliness can be as damaging as smoking 15 cigarettes a day. In addition, seniors are facing a lack of nearby shops and services, as well as, lack of access to health and social care. Due to limited local bus services, old people struggle to reach shops, post offices or even hospitals. It is understood that all the issues mentioned above have a severe impact on people’s quality of life in older age.

To address the challenges related to the rural elderly, government should increase financing for rural communities and make sure that the older people who live in the countryside have access to the services and facilities they need to live as independent and fulfilling lives as possible. Additionally, a local bus service should be improved, extra routes and buses should be added providing freedom of movement for ageing population. To tackle an issue of isolation, it would be vital to extend fast broadband internet services to the most remote parts of the country. As well as this, local community centers should be open, where old people could meet and have social interactions and discussions of burning issues.

In conclusion, prevailing of older people in the villages is serious issue because it causes isolation and declining rural living standards. The key to solving these problems is sufficient funds and providing of local services, such as adequate health care system and fast internet.