Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities or towns, only old people live in the countryside? What are the problems of this issue? What can be done to solve this problem?

In modern society, urbanization has become a trend in the world. Younger people want to relocate from the countryside to the city, leaving elderly people there. In my own perspective, it would lead to problems, yet we have solutions to tackle the issue.

First of all, immigration of the young from countryside to city would result in the lack of labor there. Even if the majority of industry and business are located in the city, there are still some of them far away from there which requires young labor, such as agriculture and waste disposal. The short of energetic labor could cause problematic operations of those industries.

Second of all, if the younger family members move out from the urban area for better employment opportunities and leave the older ones at home, there would be nobody that could look after them when they are sick. In addition, the technologies and equipment of the hospitals in the rural area are generally not as advanced as those in the city. Apart from that, elderly people who stay in the countryside are easier to feel lonely and depressed, because they have not many people around to talk and share thoughts.

In order to resolve the problem, government could announce certain policies to keep the young residents outside the city. For instance, they could encourage companies to move out of the central business area by lowering their tax revenue. Therefore, youngsters could earn more opportunities of jobs in the countryside. Additionally, cities could provide better benefits to the older citizens, such as medical insurance and transportation, thus the younger citizens would be more willing to bring their older families to the city and live together.

To conclude, relocation of the young from countryside to city might generate problems for the old staying at home, whereas there are effective methods that could solve the problem.