The number of older people is increasing. Some people think it will cause problem to their countries, others believe this group is important to the society. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

In modern society, the amount of elderly people is rising, which results in concern of some people that it might be a problem in their country. While this concern is understandable, I believe that every coin has two sides.

On the one hand, aged people who are mostly retired consume relatively more resources than younger and mid-aged ones. First of all, they receive pensions from their former employers or government, while they do not make any contribution to the country any longer. Additionally, the government has to allocate more medical resources for older people as they are easier to get a sickness or disease. As the number of this group keeps increasing, it is reasonable for people to feel worried about it since it is potentially aggravating the burden of the government.

On the other hand, elderly people can also play a significant role to the society with the experience they gained through their lives. For instance, some old people who used to be knowledgeable and skilful engineers or doctors could return to work under appropriate encouragement policies, so that they could continue serving their industries when they collect pensions. In addition, aged parents could spend more time looking after their children's families and they could even help their grandchildren in early education. By this way, their children would save more time and energies and spend them on their works, so that they could be more efficient and contribute more to the country. Moreover, older people with more experience in their lives are valuable for the young ones to learn from the past, therefore they could probably avoid the same mistakes that the old ones have ever made before.

To sum up, older people may consume more resources, but they can also provide positive influence to the country. We should never neglect the value of older people.