Is spending money on sports and cultural events a positive or negative trend? Give reasons to your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Today, sports or local cultural events make a big impression on our lives and people exhibit preferences by actively participating (buying tickets). In my opinion, the concept of witnessing the event at the venue has positive implications. This essay will discuss further with examples prior to providing a logical conclusion.

Firstly, a live event is intriguing to most people as the occasion elevates an experience. People go to events for many reasons such as team spirit, socializing, networking, half-time shows etc. Take Major League Baseball (in USA) as an example, it alone brings more than a million fans into the stands each year. Texas Baseball Sports Club claim 90% of the people (aged below 20) come to experience the roaring crowd and enjoy hot dogs. The overall experience of watching live is incomparable to digital viewing and thus a major hit among youngsters.

In addition, the events have wider economic impact that goes beyond the ribbon cutting or final whistle. The outcome in terms of revenue and job creation from an event is beneficial to the hosting city. For example, the DDF tennis championship conducted annually, employs over 500 people, it attracts corporate sponsorship and tourism, the net yield is desirable for Dubai. Mega-events also attract foreign investors, tourists, and communication organizations raising global profile of the host country.

In conclusion, spends on cultural and sporting events is a growing trend in modern societies. The “experience economy” is a novel shift, a positive trend where people today are more liberal on spending for an experience. In an era of heightened political tension and natural disasters, the millennials are influencing the experience economy shift. Their desire for togetherness and attending live events is a positive trend for future generations to follow in a world filled with distractive digital influence.