Most youngsters want to become a celebrity. What are the effects of stardom? Discuss

The desire to be valued is the biggest perceived appeal of fame, a mesmerizing concept for most children across societies. Today, many youngsters comprehend fame as a formula to gain instant status. In my opinion, stardom requires extensive management skills as it can make or break a person. The effects of fame on a growing child will be discussed further in the following paragraphs.

Stardom at a tender age can be a great prosocial motivation. It elevates the emotional quotient, with tangible rewards such as power, wealth, status paving a path for an exceptional life. Michael Jackson is a perfect example, he made his professional debut at 5 years, became a novelty child performer and later his contributions to music, dance and fashion made him an iconic figure. His lifestyle was outlandish, a joyride most people would envy. Therefore, a journey of growth and success for a young child can be charming.

Celebrity status puts immense pressure on young individuals. The quest to raise up the ladder and sustain growth can have deleterious effects. Take for instance, Britney Spears (singer) who rose to fame as a teenage international solo singing star, struggled with fame. Media scrutinized her behavior constantly and she indulged in alcohol and substance abuse. She risked her health and needed counselling and therapy to seek balance. Thus, young celebrities can become victims of fame as they are vulnerable and lack the maturity to handle pressure.

In conclusion, fame is not bestowed upon all, it can raise the levels or irritate if bungled. Fame for most people is very dazzling, the glitter, the power and the monetary gains often undermine its negatives. Any gifted child should embrace fame skillfully and this balance is crucial to prolonged success.