In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

Although there is various technological advancement are made in order to produce adequate food resources, yet millions of people go starving each day. Well, there are several reasons behind this and the most prominent one is food wastage and over population, which can be tackled by taking some measures.

The primary reason for people being hungry, regardless of advances in agriculture, is the ever-growing population. In the last decade, the growth rate of population has increased tremendously. Whereas, the production of food rate is not increased comparatively as the expected time scale for harvesting a crop is large.

Another driving factor is, the amount of food which is wasted around the world. In the recent study, investigators found that more that 2 billion tons of cooked food is thrown away every day, especially from huge restaurants and public gatherings. Lavish food is prepared in the kitchens of well-known restaurants assuming that everything would be consumed by the end of the day by the customers. However, when there is less dine in’s or take-away, then management decide to discard the remaining’s.

First of all, government and agencies must work together in controlling the growth rate of population. They need to bring awareness among its citizen how crucial it is to consider the birth control. Also, restaurants need to stop cooking in bulk, instead, they need to cook food as per the need of the hour but not in advance. Hotel management needs to be well trained in food management and avoid food wastage as much as possible.

To conclude, over population and food misuse are the foremost challenges which will ultimately lead people to starve and the possible solution is control the growth rate of population as well as food wastage.