Shopping is the favourite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

In recent times, people are coming up with various activities during their free time and shopping is on their priority list. There are several factors behind this phenomenon, which I would argue as there are other vital things for youngsters to focus in their free time.

First of all, nowadays, shopping and spending a lot of money has become a status symbol among younger generation. This is because buying various unwanted things such as designer cloths and latest gadgets like mobile phones are used to impress their peers and gain domination over them. Furthermore, fashion might change very fast and these spending is such as waste of not only money but also time. Another reason for this trend is, shopping is absolutely free of cost. It is not necessary for all shoppers to buy the things what they see in the stores. For instance, it is quite common that young people who are studying do not have heavy pockets to buy whatever they like. Instead, they do some window shopping and try out different outfits.

However, I firmly believe that parents can do something here to motivate their children to utilize their time efficiently. Because, parents with whom they spend a lot of time, get a wide opportunity to identify their child’s interest and encourage them to take up on their favourite sport or other cultural activities like singing, dancing, and reading. As a result, this could help the younger generation to learn an art or a skill that could indirectly help or support them in the future, in terms of fame and money. Whereas, shopping will only help in spending time and money and gain nothing.

To sum up, despite shopping is a kind of entertainment for young people in order to pass their free time, I opine that it is a total waste of time; as there are other important learning skills they could focus on.