Studies suggest that the rise in the consumption of junk foods is the major cause of obesity. Some people argue that this problem can be tackled to a great extent by increasing the price of food items. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that the rising cause of obesity is due to eating fast food but others think that increasing obesity problems can be resolved by changing the real price of the food items. In my opinion, I agree with the idea of inflating the cost of such commodities to deal with obesity and the supporting points will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, the affordability of junk food is the major concern which is leading to obesity. Firstly, fast food in the markets is now available at very low prices which are easily accessible by the children and adults. People prefer to eat this food in the markets instead of eating healthy food. The only solution to deal with this is to increase the price of items twice to the real price. For instance, if Burger is available at Rs 200, increasing its price to Rs 400 will think people to invest this bucks in the healthy food instead of buying the only burger.

Besides, artificial sweeteners in junk food are also a concern. Not only, the consumption of fast food products is the only reason to increase the food price but also there is some food which has some artificial sweeteners in soaring amount. This type of food helps in accumulating excess fat in the liver which in later stages lead to obesity due to abnormal metabolism. Inflating the amount of these products will lead to less consumption. For example, the survey done by the Indian Times newspaper has shown that children who are eating junk food which has artificial sweeteners are obese at the age of 15.

In conclusion, to tackle with this, high prices can be an effective way to discourage the consumption of fast foods. In fact, if countries put this idea into practice, there will be fewer fat people around.