Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There has always been an ongoing argument about the great deal of money that famous sports persons earn from their job. Some believe that this is the right approach, whereas others consider this to be unjustifiable. In this essay, I discuss both views and explain why I believe that this phenomenon is unfair to people who work in other professions.

On the one hand, many believe that sports men and women deserve to earn a lot of money, as they have to work hard in order to get good results. Actually, athletes are under tremendous pressure to be physically and mentally fit to succeed in matches and they participate in long term exercise programs before matches. In other words, anyone who wants to be successful in this career should have persistence and lots of dedication for their profession. Also, they bear the pressure to satisfy high expectations of their supporters. Moreover, sports people bring glory to their country and enhance the reputation of their country by winning international championships. For instance, famous Iranian soccer player and a global icon, Ali Daae, attracted lots of attention to his country by winning two World Cups.

On the other hand, opponents think that sports salaries are not determined by considering the contribution the person makes to the society and level of responsibility he or she holds. But, as a result of constant media attention, sports professionals in many countries have become stars and celebrities, and those at the top not only are paid huge salaries but also live extravagantly because they have sponsors. For example, individuals in the health sector who make lots of efforts to meet patients' needs or scientists and technologists who pushed the frontiers of science to make our world run smoothly, earn much less than sports players.

In a nutshell, I believe that although athletes deserve a huge compensation for their hard work as they contribute to the reputation of their country, this trend is not fair when we compare the important effects of other society members' activities on people's health and lives.