Successful sports professionals can earn a lot of more money than people in

other important professions. Some people think that this is fully justified while

others think it is unfair.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It has been seen that for the previous two decades, the salaries of sportsmen have become a topic of great debate. While some people think that such humongous salaries are totally unjustified, I side with those who believe that lucrative salaries of athletes are entirely justifiable.

On the one hand, it is often argued that sport professionals are paid huge sums of money. One of the most common argument put forth by these people is that there are better ways to spend the money given as wages to sport persons. They believe that giving too much money to a single sportsman is totally out of question. In addition, they say that this money can be used to increase salaries of those who are unable to afford a decent meal. Furthermore, there are those who feel that sport at international level is not that necessary. They believe that it is just a waste of time not only for the people playing the sport but also for the people watching it. Hence, sportsmen should be paid wisely.

On the other hand, I personally hold the opinion that the lucrative salary packages given to athletes are entirely legitimate. In my view international sportsmen bear enormous levels of psychological stress. It is because the dignity of their entire nation is dependent on their performance. Therefore, their salary is totally fair. Similarly, another reason I think is that not every person becomes an international level athlete. The reason behind this is becoming a sportsmen demands lifelong struggle, dedication and hard work. Had becoming a sportsman was easy, every other person would have been an international athlete. The most important justification I firmly believe is the short careers of athletes. It is because they only have ten or twenty years of their youth after which they are replaced by young and energetic athletes. Footballers, for instance, retire at a very early age as compared to people in other profession. Thus their six figure annual salary is justified.

In conclusion, although the idea of spending millions of dollar on sport professionals looks absurd because of prevailing poverty, it is entirely justifiable due to their short careers and their life long struggle. Therefore, on balance, I believe that sport professionals are paid reasonably.