The tendency of human being to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

Imitating others is a deep, subsconciously rooted trait in human beings. Even as childern we learn the first lessons by imitating. To copy is not only to get an idea about how to do a certain thing but it is also done to achieve a sense of belonging in a social context. I completely agree that such a tendency helps the growth of fashion, lifestyle and the fast moving consumer goods industry.

When people are introduced to a new and innovative product, possessing it is a sign of upward mobility and in this race the industry benefits as the sales rise. Add to it the attraction of a film star promoting a product and there is even more craze and hype generated around the thing. Everyone wants to be identified with a celebrity and therefore want things which the stars has.

Secondaly, copying others at times is also a sign of a product that has mass acceptance. When companies build a reputation over time about maintaining a certain standard of quality in the produced goods, people learn from each other about it and that is how the client base increases.

On the other hand, some think that there is no originality in copying others and hence they always search for newer things. Some may try to improvise on the trend and yet others may opt for very unique items. This tendency needs lots of experience, courage and financial strength because the market usually supports products which have a mass appeal.

Finally, I second the notion that the proclivity of imitating others helps the fashion and consumer goods industry to grow well. In the long run it also helps create a niche market for those who do not want to replicate.