There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Automobiles, a great invention, from the industrial era are considered both as a blessing and as a curse. It is evident that extensive utilization of four-wheelers is posing both environmental and health issues to the general masses. This essay describes a few problems caused by the excessive usage of cars in our daily lives.

On one side, where personal vehicles provide ease of transportation, on the other side they portray serious threats to human health resulting in compromised physical well-being. It has been observed that people prefer driving rather than walking even for shorter distances, as a result of which, of late the incidence rate of obesity has grown enormously. In addition to this, limited physical activity is also leading to decline in tenacity for bones and joints. Additionally, the noxious emissions from the motors, such as sulphur dioxide and carbon monoxide, contaminate the air resulting in development of breathing related ailments such as asthma.

Not only on human health, it has been proven by the scientific research, that the unthoughtful use of automobiles also has damaging effects on the environment. The burning of fossil fuels in the motor engines, releases nitrogenous gases, which are the prominent causes of global warming. Moreover, the exhaust from the vehicles cause both primary and secondary environment pollution.

In the light of the above mentioned arguments, although it is unmanageable without personal vehicles, however, awareness should be spread regarding the thoughtful use of automobiles considering the growing number of environmental problems and the health concerns created by the same.