There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Automobiles, a great invention, from the industrial era are considered both as a blessing and as a curse. It is evident that extensive utilization of four-wheeler is posing both environmental and health issues for the consumers. This essay describes a few amongst a lot of problems caused by the excessive usage of cars in our daily lives.

On one side, where personal vehicles provides ease of transportation, on the other side they portray serious threads to human health resulting in compromised physical strength. It has been observed that people prefer driving rather than walking even for shorter distances, as a result of which, of late the incidence rate of obesity has grown enormously. In addition to this, limited physical activity is also leading to decline in tenacity for bones and joints.

Not only on human health, it has been proven by the scientific research, that the unthoughtful usage of automobiles also has detrimental effects on the environment. The harmful emissions from the vehicles pollute the air that we breathe, as a result of which, the number of asthma patients hospitalized is increasing annually at an alarming rate. Last but not the least, the overall planet’s surface temperature has risen by significant degrees, resulting in issues such as global warming, which is mainly due to noxious gases such as sulphur dioxide and carbon mono oxide.

In the light of above mentioned arguments although automobiles are eminent part of our regular lives, they should be wisely put to use considering the growing number of environmental problems and the health concerns created by the same.