There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Recently, The fact the number of tertiary education students has been maximized on an unprecedented scale has brought into question whether the shortcomings stemming from this trend can overshadow its benefits. Personally, although in a few specific contexts the growth in the number of university students can negatively affect the quality of education, I believe that by and large, the advantages of this influx outweigh the disadvantages.

Admittedly, I acknowledge that, in some places and situations, the high figures of the number of people aiming to study at universities may influence the education quality. This is because of the shortage of practical materials in some universities attributed to the insufficient funds of them. One particular salient example that may hold this theory true is the third world nations such as Egypt where the quality of education in practical colleges, such as medicine, has declined owing to the limited resources for funding laboratories, relative to the maximizing number of people attending them.

However, on account of two main justifications, I uphold the conviction that the increasing number of tertiary education students is more beneficial to both individuals and societies. First and foremost, since university graduates, undoubtedly, have been learning countless skills in their faculties, they play a significant contributory factor to the development of countries' economies. This is because they acquire the suitable skill-sets for steering companies in particular directions in the light of the prevailing commercial and other operational conditions. Take graduates of Harvard Business School for example, There is no question that hiring them in the majority of world-famous corporations is a great evidence of their potential to thrive any company. As a result, the more buoyant economy of local companies, the more the flourishing in the local economies raising the living standards for all people.

To conclude, whereas the dramatic increase in the number of people having tendency to attend universities may affect the quality of education in some places in the world, I am of the belief that the advantages of this trend are much greater. This growth has efficiently assisted in flourishing the local economies across the world and making the world better place for poor people.