In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crime should receive adult punishment.

To what extent do you agree?

Crime rates have shown an increasing trend in some societies. It is often argued that irrespective of the age of the youth who commit significantly lethal crimes ought to receive the adult punishments. I totally agree with the statement above and I will discuss the reasons in the following paragraphs.

The main reason why I agree is that it will send an important message among the teenagers across the country that the state is strict and united against all significant crimes. It will increase the fear of the punishment among the teenagers as they know that they will get the same punishments as of adults. For instance, in Middle East, punishment against most crimes is similar for the teenagers and the adults, as a result, teenagers in these countries are not very much involved in crimes compared to the rest of the world as they know that they will get very harsh punishment. This shows that same is law for major crimes play a significant role to prevent teenagers from indulging themselves in the crimes.

Another reason why I agree is that it will play an indispensable role in reducing the crime rates across the country. Mostly adult criminal hires teenagers to do their task as they know that teenagers does not get strict punishment. For example, most of the murders and bank robbery in Karachi from 2013 to 2015 were committed by teenagers who were hired by robust adult gangs. These teenagers were promised significant amount of money and they were told that they will not get strict punishment. Therefore, it concludes that same law and punishment for adult and teenagers would have an enormous impact to decrease crime rates across the country.

In conclusion, I firmly agree that the teenagers should receive same punishment as of the adult for all the important crimes. As stricter would ensure public safety and security and reinstate public faith in the judiciary system of a country.