There is an increasing amount of advertising directed at children, which

encourages them to buy goods such as toys and snacks. Many parents are worried that these advertisements put too much pressure on children, while

some advertisers claim that they provide useful information to children. Discuss both views and giveyour opinion

Nowadays, due to burgeoning technological advances, youngsters are exposed to lots of commercials that persuades them to buy goods. What are the implications?. Some parents are concerned that these promotions mount pressure on their children while the advertisers claim that they provide crucial information to minors. Let us examine both views and proffer my opinion before reaching a concrete decision.

Undoubtedly, exposing children to adverts have certain drawbacks and parents are worried about them. Firstly, it makes children to become consumerist. To illustrate, exposing juveniles to certain adverts can make them to show over possessive attitudes. For instance, these days adverts on toys are common. Children persuade parents to get them such items without thinking of the financial burden it have to their parents. Consequently, commercial could lead to gluttony. Children believe in what the see on television promotions not minding the dangers involved. For example coca cola adverts are deceptive and this might lead to gluttony on such products hence chronic complications that can result from gluttony such diabetes and high blood pressure arises.

Conversely, promoters advocates that they provide useful information to children through advertisements because certain adverts are educative. Some adverts educates minors on how to become good statesmen and how to practice good hygiene. For instance, the popular food brand Moko spranga promotes good hygiene cultures in juveniles. Furthermore, commercials can be used to create awareness on the essense of vaccination to children. To illustrate, most parents get to know about the importance of vaccine through the media. A recent publication on the New york time magazine has shown that information on polio and malaria vaccines spread faster through television adverts. By and large, commercials educates and help to create awareness on importance of vaccination.

From my perspective, I believe that commercials are important however certain advertisements mount pressures on parents therefore, government should put checks to monitor and curtail irrelevant adverts.

To recapitulate, the expansion in technology has made adverts to become ubiquitous. It mounts pressures on parents because it makes children to become consumerist and to result to gluttony. However promoters claims adverts is useful because it is educative and can be used to create awareness. I reiterate my opinion that commercials are important and that government should check and curtail irrelevant ones.