There is an opinion that machine translation is not as fast and correct as human one and the future of translation is decided in favor of humankind. Nevertheless, the opposite state gives that future is in the hands of intelligent machines, which are highly developed nowadays.

It is beyond doubt that modern technologies are crucially progressing from day to day. Indeed, people did not even have a simple phone less than fifty years ago, but now almost everybody owns a smartphone which gives access to huge knowledge from the pocket, including machine translation.  Moreover, the artificial intelligence has created an enormous opportunity for implementing accumulated knowledge in systems for translations, which, in turn, could be done in extremely short time today. Unfortunately, translation accuracy still depends on the existing rule bases and human intelligence. I suppose that, even if machine translations are not as accurate as human ones, it does not mean that the situation will not change for the better in a few years.

On the other hand, it is important to note that languages are changing rapidly, too. In addition, the same language may have several different accents, which are individual for the regions but still have the same main bases. Moreover, modern internet society creates many new words daily to communicate faster through the internet and those words become widespread slang in real life. In this case, it is vitally necessary to update language bases for machine translation in time.

To sum it up, I would like to say that modern artificial intelligence is bringing more and more opportunities to create new systems for machine translation. However, those systems rely on the language bases and should be up-to-date, but, actually, it still needs to be developed.