There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed.

Discuss both views.

In the recent years, there has been an unprecedented rise in the number of criminal activities such as murder and rapes. While some people feel that death sentence is the most effective way to deter such incidents, others believe that other methods should be implemented. This essay with discuss both the viewpoints in depth respectively.

Those who advocate death penalty is best to alleviate serious crimes may argue that punishments like this may refrain criminals to think before they commit these heinous acts. This is because every human loves their life and such a strict punishment would discourage individuals to perform cruel activities. For instance, Japan has a crime rate of 0.2% due to its strict set of punishments. Thus, these people may feel this is the only way to reduce increasing crime rate.

On the other hand, others believe that rather than implementing death penalty system government should implement other methods such as educating its citizens in order to make them responsible and sensible human beings. According to them, killing a criminal would not diminish increasing crime rates because the people of the society may not be sensitive enough to value the lives of other individuals. Thus, such incidents would remain persistent regardless of strict punishments. A society can only be crime-free when all the people of the community possess qualities such as empathy and sympathy. Teaching these traits can be more beneficial instead of using death penalty as a deterrent.

To conclude, although death sentence may refrain criminals to perform brutal acts, methods such as education of the society should not be undermined.