There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent many people believe that other measures will be needed Discuss both views

Crime rate has been rising steadily every year. While some countries practice death penalty, many believe that new ways should be implemented to reduce the number of serious crimes being committed. In my opinion, though there is hope for criminals to reform themselves through other methods, Death penalties are inevitable in the modern world.

Most of the countries these have laws which allow the judiciary systems to sentence criminals to death. It is considered by many that death penalty is an effective way to control criminals as they induce fear among them & stop them from committing similar crimes.

On the other hand, some people believe that other methods have to be implemented to control the crimes. They argue that everyone has a right to live & death sentence is against the order of nature. Instead, they suggest that criminals should be given opportunity to reform themselves through other ways like rigorous imprisonment, volunteering work etc.

Even though it makes sense that criminals should be given a chance to change themselves, studies have shown that most of the people who have committed serious crimes, even after being imprisoned for many years tend to repeat them after they are released. These people do not have any right to be a part of the society as it seems to be nearly impossible for them to respect & care for others’ lives. Their existence itself poses a threat to the people around.

To summarize, it is important for the criminals to be punished seriously when they commit a crime so that they do not think of repeating their acts. But, when the crime is committed for the second time it is necessary to induce death penalty against them in view of the safety of the society & setting an example to fellow criminals.