There should be uniform in school. To what extent do you agree?

The practice of compulsory uniform is widely prevalant across many countries. I completely agree for abiding to compulsory uniform in schools, as it helps in providing separate identity to children, act as social leveller and also helps in improving focus on education.

To begin with, every school has its own set-up and social identity, which is also reflected through the dress code it follows, thus providing differentiator factor to children. By just looking at dress code, public at large is able to identify kids of different schools. Moreover, uniform act as a social leveller, removing any economic in-equalities, pertaining to juveniles background, thus cementing the social bonding among them.

Additionally, uniform code throttle any avoidable competition generating from inherent desire, of children, to project as more fashionable than rest. This way they are least distracted by what other children wear, thus can better focus on their studies. Many studies in past have highlighted the drop in grade levels, ones the juveniles transit from school to college. They Have proven that this drop is partially linked to change in dress code, from compulsory uniform to fashionable dressing in college.

On contrary, freedom to dress as per own desires, does help in projecting a presentable picture in society. But this option is widely available across tertiary education level.

To conclude, school uniform is very important in building a cohesive learning environment for children, till secondary level, overcoming all other social and economical distractions and in-equalities.