These days it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation migration from the country to the city and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed

Over the past decades, the world has never witnessed such a great influx of population from rural areas to cities, and still it is on going. Cities are already over populated, polluted and cramped with an over number of people. Only decentralization mandatory relocation can reverse the scenario.

Firstly, to begin with, only 20% of the world population lived in the cities at the beginning of 20th century while this has already escalated to over 80%. This over population in cities increases the crime rate, contribute to environmental pollution, declines the leaving standard of citizens and makes living cost higher. The traffic congestion is a direct result of it that kills thousand of man-hours each day. Besides, the housing problem in cities is getting worse day by day. According to a recent study, the life style of cities is declining faster with the dramatic increase of its population.

To stop people from moving to metropolitan areas, the government has to adopt an effective decentralization policy. If enough civil facilities and employment opportunities are created in the rural and suburban areas, a few people would move to cities. People primarily migrate to big cities to have better careers and earning prospects. To reverse it, the government has to start big projects to empower the rural people and forcibly move many factories and facilities to near by country sides. Education, Treatment and entertainment facilities in the cities attract many rural people and the only way to stop this influx of people is to add those facilities to the country sides as well.

In conclusion, cities become less habitable with the inflow of mass people who came to have a better life. But, eventually face more problems. Decentralization could be a very effective solution to invert this concerning trend.