These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this and how could the problem be solved?

A generation ago, teaching in high school was considered as an extremely well-respected and popular job. However, in many parts of the world, teaching profession has been alluring a few number of young people who are interested to be teachers. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions.

One of the main reasons of the problem could be the lower salary of teachers. In several nations, the compensation for the educators is comparatively lower than that of other professionals such as lawyers, doctors, engineers etc. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, an accountant with 5 years experience can easily make $100,000 in a year which is far more that the salary of a teacher with the same experience and qualifications. A possible solution of the problem could be the rise of the compensation packages for educators by government.

A second cause of the problem is that teaching jobs demand intensive and excessive work. Teachers are responsible for taking classes, preparing lectures, setting up question papers, grading etc. that require to work overtime. As a result, many teachers are stressed and it affects their personal life. One of the possible solutions of this problem might be appointing teaching assistants and graders who can aid teachers to perform some of their responsibilities.

Finally, the third reason of the problem may be the inappropriate behaviors of the children at schools. Many students nowadays often disobey teachers' instructions that result frustrations and ultimately quitting the teaching professions. When young generations frequently see these incidents on social media, they choose different career paths other than teaching. A potential solution of this problem is that parents should give lessons to their children on behaving well in the schools.

To sum up, becoming educators in secondary schools is now less popular job in many countries due to insufficient compensation, excessive work, and inappropriate behavior of the students. While government can give a rise to the salary of the teaching professionals, teaching assistants should be hired to make their jobs easier. My view is that the main responsibility of solving the problem lies with parents who can teach their children to behave well with teachers and government who can take initiatives to increase the salary of the teachers.