These days, many people are interested in buying organic food even though it is often more expensive than conventionally produced food.

What are some reasons that people prefer organic food?

Do you think it is important to buy organic food despite the higher price?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are two main reasons people prefer organic food: Organic food is better for our health, and it is better for the environment. Certainly, organic food costs more than conventionally produced food, but considering its benefits, it is well worth the price.

People who buy organic food know how good it is for our health. Conventionally produced food has many additives. For example, fruits and vegetables are grown with the use of pesticides and herbicides. These poisons stay on our food, and we ingest them when we eat. In the past few years, this can cause serious health problems such as cancer. Cows on conventional farms are fed hormones and antibiotics. We also ingest these things when we drink milk and eat beef. Organic food, on the other hand, does not contain any kind of poisons or additives. It is clean and fresh and good for our health.

In addition to being good for our health, organic food is good for the environment. The pesticides and herbicides that are used with conventionally produced food poison the environment as well as our bodies. These things can harm insects and other animals and deplete the soil of nutrients. Organic food, on the other hand, is produced in harmony with the environment. Organic farming methods help build up healthy soil and use natural controls for insects and weeds.

Organic food can be expensive. However, there is nothing more important than our health or the natural environment we live in. If we spend a little more money so we can eat organic food, then we just spend a little less money on other, less important things. Buying organic food is a good use of our money.